Canoe Table, Koorie Heritage Trust Level 3. Peter Bennett, 2015.

Who we are

We are an Aboriginal not for profit Incorporated Association located at Levels 1 & 3 Yarra Building, Federation Square, Cnr Swanston & Flinders Streets, Melbourne.

We are open 10.00 am to 5.00 pm Monday to Sunday and closed all Victorian and National Public Holidays.


Our Strategic Goals 2017-20

  • STRENGTHEN our relationships with Victorian Aboriginal communities
  • PROMOTE and celebrate our continuing living Victorian Aboriginal culture
  • EXTEND our reach and enhance our Visitors experience
  • DEVELOP our people and capabilities

We will monitor and measure our success against our strategic goals.  By 2020, we will:

  • have strengthened our connection to all of our key stakeholders, particularly Victoria’s Aboriginal community
  • be the place to go for an authentic, high quality and memorable experience of the cultural richness of South-Eastern Australia reflected
  • be recognised and respected as a pre-eminent Australian Aboriginal organisation and a source of cultural knowledge, expertise and advice on South-Eastern Aboriginal Australia
  • be making a significant contribution to Melbourne’s vibrant artistic, creative and cultural landscape
  • have meaningful and relevant partnerships which increase our reach and accessibility
  • be a valued source of advocacy and guidance on increasing the Aboriginal footprint on Victoria’s physical environment and infrastructure


Our Board of Management

Our Board of Management comprise both Koorie and non-Koorie members reflecting our motto of people working towards the broader goal of reconciliation for all Australians.

Our Koorie/Indigenous members are:

  • Ian Hamm (Chair), CEO Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
  • Dr Shannon Faulkhead (Deputy Chair), Acting Head, First Peoples Department, Museums Victoria
  • Tom Mosby (Secretary and ex officio member), CEO Koorie Heritage Trust
  • Mick Harding (Ordinary Member), Artist and Chairperson Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council
  • Indi Clarke, Executive Officer Koorie Youth Council
  • Genevieve Grieves (Ordinary Member), Artist, researcher, educator, curator, filmmaker and oral historian with 20 years accumulated experience across the arts, culture and education sectors

Our non-Koorie members are:

  • Peter Nash (Board Treasurer and Chair, Audit and Risk Committee), Chairman Johns Lyng Group Limited and Director Westpac Banking Corporation

The Koorie Heritage Trust is also a proud participant in the Observership Program.  Modelled on a similar program that operates in the United States, the Observership Program places talented professionals on non-profit boards for a period of 12 months as Observers. It is a tool to engage emerging community leaders, giving participating non-profit boards an opportunity to mentor the next generation of leaders and to engage new people in the work of their organisations.  The program was launched in Melbourne with three Indigenous recruited and sitting on the Trust Board as Observers in 2017.  As part of the 2019 program, we welcome to our Board the following Observers:

  • Kiernan Ironfield, is a Dharug man and economist.  He holds a Bachelor of Economics from ANU and is currently a Masters of Economics student at the University of Melbourne
  • Josh Lloyd is a proud Yamatji Wajarri mid-career professional with nearly 10 years’ experience in cultural heritage, engineering and project management


Our Executive Team

  • Tom Mosby, CEO
  • Michael Kane, Business Manager
  • Curatorial Manager (currently vacant)
  • Jenny Bates, Koorie Family History Service Manager
  • Judy Allsop, Retail and Front of House Manager
  • Rob Hyatt, Cultural Education Manager


Reports and Documents

Annual Reports

Strategic Plan

Media and Communications